KATHUA: An inter-college academic symposium on impact of GST on Indian Economy was organised on Tuesday at GDC Kathua in which Prof R.D Sharma Vice Chancellor University of Jammu was the Chief Guest.

In his address Prof R.D Sharma explained the various aspects of GST. He said that the GST replaced existing multiple cascading taxes lavied by the Central and State Govt. He also laid emphasis on organising such academic activities through sponsorships from trusts and other sponsoring agencies as it shall definitely give better chances of growth and development of institutions .


Prof Zahoor Ahmed Chaatt who was the Guest of Honour in the symposium congratulated the faculty of the college for organising such an event by getting sponsorships from Prof D.K. Ram Paul Memorial Trust Jammu.


Earlier Principal of the College Prof Kartar Chand highlighted the achievements of college . He said that it is through such events college is able to attain NAAC A Grade. He also thanked the trust for giving a golden opportunity to this college in organising such an intercollege event .


Dr. Vinay Rampaul Secretary cum Treasure of Trust in his address endorsed on the moral and ethical values to be inculcated among the student community for the better academic atmosphere.


Thirteen colleges from Jammu province participated in the symposium in which Rupali Jasrotia of GDC Kathua , Kajal Pathania of GDC Basholi and Tushar Sharma of GGM Science College Jammu were adjudged first, second and third respectively. Priya Thakur of GDC Women Udhampur and Mohd. Bilal Khan of GDC Billawer were given consolation prizes.


Sakshi Nagar of Sem VIth, Nisha Mishra of semester IVth and Happy Devi of semester 2nd were awarded Merit Scholarships for obtaining highest marks in English.


Dr. Ram Murti Sharma, Prof Saroop Chander and Dr. C.P. Sharma were the judges on the occasion.


Prof .Shiv Kumar Convener Scholarship Committee appreciated the Role of the Trust for providing financial assistance the meritorious students in the form of scholarship.


The programme was anchored by Prof Sumanesh Jasrotia and Prof Shikha. An impressive vote of thanks was presented by Prof Rakesh Singh.


Those who attended the programme were Dr. Sangeeta, Dr. Anita, Dr. Netar Singh, Dr. Ram Krishan, Prof Dhian Singh, Prof Vijay Sharma, Dr. Parmodh Gupta, JenabSardarKhan , Prof Anirudh Sharma, Prof Jaswinder Singh, Prof Raj Kiran, Dr. R.K. Manhas, Dr. ArunDev Singh, Dr Surya Partap Singh and Prof Manmohan Singh.


Source : State Times

e-max.it: your social media marketing partner